May 19, 2014

Two more Flowers in the Attic sequels are in the works


There are two authorized V.C. Andrews sequels coming soon.

There are two authorized V.C. Andrews sequels coming soon.

Following the remarkable success of a TV movie based on V.C. Andrews’s Flowers in the Attic on Lifetime earlier this year (it was the highest rated basic cable movie since November 2012), Pocket Books has announced that there two more books coming in the creepy saga of the Dollanganger family.

Andy Lewis writes in an exclusive for the Hollywood Reporter that the two new novels will be set in the present day. They’ll also introduce an element of meta-fiction, telling the story of a distant Dollanganger relative who finds the diary of one of Andrews’s original characters and—like countless teenagers before her—becomes enthralled by the tale of four children locked away in an attic by their mother and grandmother.

While Andrews died in 1986, her estate has continued to authorize publication of sequels and spinoff books based on her notes and unfinished manuscripts. The two upcoming installments—Christopher’s Diary: Secrets of Foxworth and Christopher’s Diary: Echoes of Dollanganger—will presumably be written by longtime Andrews ghostwriter Andrew Neiderman.

The Christopher’s Diary books will be released in October 2014 and January 2015, respectively. Meanwhile, the Andrews resurgence continues this month with another Lifetime movie, based on Petals on the Wind, the immediate follow-up to Flowers in the Attic; like the Flowers… movie, it will star Heather Graham and Ellen Burstyn. No word yet on an adaptation of My Sweet Audrina, but let’s all hope that’s coming, because—despite the incest and poisoning and whippings that go on in the Dollanganger books—the Audrina story is even more horrible and bonkers (it starts off with a little girl hypnotized to believe she’s her dead sister, and only gets crazier from there).


Nick Davies is a publicist at Melville House.